Most visitors to New Zealand liable for a NZD35 IVL charge as of 1 July 2019

/ / News

From 1 July, most international visitors entering New Zealand will be charged a levy of NZD35 that will be invested in sustainable tourism and conservation projects.

The IVL enables visitors to contribute directly to the infrastructure they use and help protect the natural environment they enjoy.

Who will pay the IVL?

Most visitors entering New Zealand on a temporary basis will need to pay the IVL. This includes for a holiday, which include the working holiday scheme, some student visas and some short-term work visas.

How do you know if you should pay the IVL?

To make it easy for visitors, the immigration system will automatically identify whether or not a person should pay the IVL. This happens when the person apply for a visa online or request an NZeTA.

With that said, Immigration New Zealand has said that the following people won’t have to pay the IVL:

  • New Zealand citizens and residents (including all resident visas)
  • People transiting New Zealand on a transit visa or transit NZeTA
  • Australian citizens and permanent residents
  • People from the following Pacific Island countries:
    • American Samoa
    • Cook Islands
    • Fiji
    • Kiribati
    • Republic of Marshall Islands
    • Federated States of Micronesia
    • Niue
    • Nauru
    • Palau
    • Papua New Guinea
    • Pitcairn Islands
    • Samoa
    • Solomon Islands
    • Tonga
    • Tuvalu
    • Vanuatu
  • Diplomatic, military, medical, and humanitarian visas.
  • People travelling to Antarctica under the Antarctic Treaty (including people travelling on the Antarctic Traveller Transit Visa).
  • Recognised Seasonal Employment workers.
  • Business Visitor Visas (including APEC business travel cards).
  • Ship and airline crew.
  • Most visas for dependents (partners and children) of work and student visa holders.
  • Travellers whose visa or NZeTA requirements have been waived by Immigration New Zealand.

When do you pay the IVL?

Visitors will pay the IVL at the same as paying for their visa application or NZeTA.

How will New Zealand spend the IVL?

Immigration New Zealand has said that the IVL will be split between conservation and tourism, with three areas of focus – conservation, infrastructure and systems.

The decision makers on exactly where the funds go will be made up of an advisory group with expertise specific to the aims of the IVL, the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE), the Department of Conservation, and the Ministers of Tourism, Conservation, and Finance.

Here’s how to stay up to date with future immigration changes

To know of immigration changes as and when it happens, simply follow us on Facebook or LinkedIn where we post regular news updates.

Take advantage of our free initial assessment here

Discover your
visa options

Return to our blog